An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Three AFNORTH members receive ANG-level recognition

  • Published
  • By Leslie Brown
Three Air Forces Northern members recently received Air National Guard-level awards.

Richard Doran, John Bender and Maj. Kass Larson, all from the Installations and Mission Support Directorate (A7), were selected to represent the National Guard at Air Force level.

Doran, Chief, Civil Engineer Division, received the Harry P. Rietman Award, named after the man known as the father of the Civil Engineering Civilian Career Program, recognizes superior job performance of civilian civil engineer personnel.

Doran was recognized for developing of the engineering annex to the Campaign Support Plan. He was also instrumental in identifying and avoiding more than $550,000 in unnecessary O&M project costs.

"I am honored to be selected as the 2013 Harry P. Rietman Award winner," Doran, who won in the GS-13 and above category, said. "My Civil Engineer Division at AFNORTH had a banner year, and I would be remiss if I did not brag about all the great work my A7C staff did which helped me win this award; they are outstanding members of the AFNORTH team."

Larson, Chief, Current Operations, received the Maj. Gen. William D. Gilbert Award. The award, whose namesake served as the Director of Engineering and Services from 1978 to 1982, recognizes outstanding performance and exemplary service by engineering military and civilian staff action officers.

The major was instrumental in adding much needed parking spaces around the Killey Center. He authored the standardization plan for alert facilities, a JFACC high interest item. His work also focused on the high-visibility static display project.

"It's an honor to be formerly recognized by NGB, but I can't take all the credit," Larson said. "We've got a great team here. From MILCON impacts AOR-wide to the installation of the 1st AF static display aircraft, we've had a very productive year."

Bender, EM/CBRN Division Chief, received the Civilian Emergency Manager of the Year Award, which recognizes individual superior job performance and outstanding contributions to the Air Force Emergency Management field.

Bender was recognized for his lead role in the overhaul of NORAD's Chemical Biological Radiological and Nuclear Warning and Reporting System. He was instrumental in the education and preparation of 675 personnel for decisive hazard response.

"It is an honor to be recognized from so many other outstanding civilian emergency managers within the Air National Guard," Bender said. "Many of the accomplishments I am being recognized for are due to the outstanding support of my family, co-workers and leadership within the A7 Directorate."

All of the winners were humble and agreed they couldn't have done it without the support of the entire A7 team.

"Kass, John and Richard are all true professionals who are well deserving of this recognition," said Ann Garner, A7 deputy. "A7 had such a busy year and it is an honor to have the Air National Guard recognize their work."